Kashmiri journalist wins Free Press Unlimited’s ‘Newcomer of 2021’ award

The Kashmir Walla needs you, urgently. Only you can do it.

The Kashmir Walla plans to extensively and honestly cover — break, report, and analyze — everything that matters to you. You can help us.

Most Read This Week

Kashmiri journalist Bhat Burhan wins ‘Newcomer of the Year – Hans Verploeg Award 2021’ by Free Press Unlimited.

Burhan, who is currently in The Hague to attend the award ceremony, was announced the winner of the award on Tuesday evening.

The Free Press Awards recognise journalists and media professionals who have a strong commitment with press freedom and independent information.

Burhan started his journalism career from The Kashmir Walla in 2018 and went on to become an independent journalist. He has reported several issues from Kashmir and others parts of India, including crisis of transgender community, the nationwide farmers protests in Punjab, Covid-19 pandemic.

The other nominees for the Newcomer of the Year award were Aye Myint Thant from Myanmar and Israel Graca Campos from Angola.

The Free Press Unlimited, in a statement, said that these are journalists that work in very challenging environments, but show great motivation and talent in their ambition to inform their public.

Choose a plan as per your location

Latest News

Stop teaching during school hrs or face action: ADC Sopore warns coaching centres

The authorities on Saturday warned coaching institutions, operating in Sopore town of north Kashmir’s Baramulla district, of strict action...

More Articles Like This