Four more Kashmiri politicians released

The Kashmir Walla needs you, urgently. Only you can do it.

The Kashmir Walla plans to extensively and honestly cover — break, report, and analyze — everything that matters to you. You can help us.

Most Read This Week

Srinagar: Four more mainstream Jammu and Kashmir politicians were released on Sunday from detention in the MLA hostel in Srinagar.

“The released leaders are from the National Conference and include Abdul Majid Larmi, Ghulam Nabi Bhat, Dr Muhammad Shafi, and Muhammad Yusuf Bhat,” IANS quoted sources as saying.

They had been in detention since August 5, when the Centre abrogated Article 370 and bifurcated Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories.

With the release of the four leaders, the number of leaders under detention in the Valley stands at 17. These include three chief ministers — Farooq Abdullah, Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti.

On January 16, five mainstream politicians were released from their detention in the MLA hostel.

A total of 35 mainstream politicians were moved from the Centaur hotel on the banks of the Dal lake to the MLA hostel in November last year.

Choose a plan as per your location

Latest News

Stop teaching during school hrs or face action: ADC Sopore warns coaching centres

The authorities on Saturday warned coaching institutions, operating in Sopore town of north Kashmir’s Baramulla district, of strict action...

More Articles Like This