Triple Talaq Bill passed in Rajya Sabha

JK Bank

Today, the triple talaq bill was passed in the upper house of parliament, Rajya Sabha with the opposition demanding to send the bill to a select committee was rejected with only 84 members voting for it, 100 against. The bill was passed soon after.

Earlier, the bill had cleared Lok Sabha thrice, however, couldn’t stood in Rajya Sabha due to the lack of numbers by the side of Bharatiya Janata Party. Today, the main opposition of the bill, Nitish Kumar’s party, JDU and the AIADMK decided to abstain from voting. Their absence from voting helped bring down the effective strength of the 240-member Rajya Sabha and the majority mark.

The bill, which outlaws instant triple talaq, stipulates three years jail for violations. The ban is already in force through an ordinance but has been a top priority for the BJP led NDA government. It was the first bill introduced in Parliament after the NDA government was re-elected to power.

The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, first brought to parliament nearly 19 months back, had been stuck due to the opposition in the Rajya Sabha where the National Democratic Alliance did not have a majority.

Dear reader, we report people's voice...

Hence, we have not kept our content behind a paywall because we want their stories to reach everyone irrespective of reader's geographical location and economic status; but, you can help us remain independent by subscribing. The unbiased and free journalism needs resources and every contribution towards making mediascape a better place — however small or big — makes a difference. Subscribe today with as little as 39 rupees a month. Subscribe today »